Tagged: Delete user
March 22, 2021 at 6:48 pm #7252
Here is the disaster scenario:
1. The user registers on the page and becomes a WP User.
2. While the user is logged in to the site, he registers (under the same email address) as an affiliate.
3. Great, that’s exactly what I want. The user is satisfied because he only needs one account.
We do not have two separate user accounts here. It is one account to which affiliate capability is associated. That’s fine and it works perfectly. However, here is one problem for the administrator.
The administrator has two options: (affiliate) Activate/Deactivate and Delete.
I am an administrator. I deleted one affiliate user. All posts, anything the user has ever posted, have been deleted from the website. Also, that user was deleted as a WP User. He’s gone. As if he didn’t even exist.
That was not my intention. And I don’t want that (in a moment of inattention) to happen again.
1. Is there any way to disable deleting affiliate accounts in settings? Something you can add in one of the following updates?
2. If this is not possible, can you add a warning before final deletion, something like: “Are you sure you want to delete this user? Deleting will result in deleting the material posted by the user on the website. Also, the user will be deleted as a WP User.”
The most elegant way for an administrator to have the option: Enable deletion of affiliate users: Yes / No
Thanks in advance. RegardsMarch 23, 2021 at 1:07 pm #7253
@vrilstain, We are really sorry to hear that those posts were deleted. Can you recover them from Trash? Although the plugin doesn’t delete posts, WordPress may have done it automatically when the user account was deleted.
We can see how this will affect websites with multiple user roles. If a confirmation screen is not possible we will try to add a checkbox for it.March 23, 2021 at 1:39 pm #7255
Unfortunately, there is nothing I can do. Everything is irretrievably lost. It doesn’t exist in the trash. Still, it’s not a big pity right now because I’m just testing the website for the company before the official launch.
If you can do something with the settings it would be great. Thanks in advance.
Have a nice day. RegardsMarch 25, 2021 at 5:39 am #7257
@vrilstain, We have just released an update for it. You can now disable this option in the settings (Affiliates > Settings > Advanced Settings).March 25, 2021 at 10:27 am #7258
Great! Thank you very much. This really brightened my day.
You must be logged in to reply to this topic.